Small Business Administration

SBA Loans


The Small Business Administration (SBA) is a United States government agency signed into law by President Eisenhower in 1953 that provides support to small businesses. The mission of the Small Business Administration is “to maintain and strengthen the nation’s economy by enabling the establishment and viability of small businesses and by assisting the economic recovery of communities after disasters.”

SBA loans are made through banks, credit unions and other lenders who partner with the SBA. The SBA provides a government-backed guarantee on 90 percent of each loan made in order to strengthen access to capital for small businesses.
The SBA does not provide grants or direct loans with the exception of Disaster Relief Loans.


SBA 504 Loans

The U.S. Small Business Administration 540 Loan or Certified Development Company program is designed to provide financing for the purchase of fixed assets, consisting of land, buildings, and machinery, at below market rates. As part of its mission to promote the development of businesses, the SBA offers a number of different loan programs tailored to specific capital needs of growing businesses. The 504 program works by distributing the loan among three parties. The business owner invests a minimum of 10%, a conventional lender loans up to 50%, and a Certified Development Company (CDC) loans the remaining 40%. Certified Development Companies are established under the 504 code as non-profit corporations set up to support economic growth in their local areas. There are hundreds of CDCs nationwide. The maximum amount of the loan is currently $5 million.


Eligibility for SBA 504 Loans

In order to qualify for the program, the borrower must meet the SBA’s definition of a small business and must plan to use over half (51%) of the property for its own operations within one year of ownership; if the building is to be newly constructed, the borrower must use 60% at once and plan to occupy 80%. The borrower may form a real-estate entity that leases 100% to the operating business, which then subleases the surplus space (up to 49%). To qualify for this program, U.S. citizens or permanent residents must hold a majority of the ownership of the operating company and holding entity.


Disaster Assistance Loans

Homeowners and renters are eligible for long-term, low-interest loans to rebuild or repair damaged properties to pre-disaster conditions. Before making a loan, the SBA must establish the cost of repairing or rebuilding the structure (determined by SBA’s Field Inspectors who visit the property), the applicant’s repayment ability (determined by the applicant’s creditworthiness and income) and whether the applicant can secure credit in the commercial market (called the credit elsewhere test). Applicants who do not qualify for disaster assistance loans are referred to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for grants. Although the SBA will not decline a loan for lack of collateral, the agency is statutorily required to collateralize whatever assets are available including the damaged property, a second home or other real property. Businesses are also eligible for long-term, low-interest rate loans to recover from declared disasters.



All contents ©2019 MTCLaw.com. All rights reserved.