E-2 Visas - Petitions


An E-2 Investor Visa allows a person to enter the United States to work based on an investment he or she will be controlling, while inside the United States. The visa must be renewed every two years, but there is no limit to how many times a person can renew. The investment must be “substantial”. Investor visas are available only to treaty countries which do not include Brazil, Russia, India, and China.

The dollar investment should exceed $200,000 depending on the type of business (new or existing), although some have been approved for amounts as low as $50,000. Applicants should consult an immigration attorney prior to making an offer for an existing business. The dollar amount must be money spent on the business. Any dollars not directly spent on the business itself will not count toward the required amount.

For new business startups, the investment must be sufficient to start and operate the business. The amount of investment varies depending on the type of business.

Upon conclusion of the business, investors are required to return to their countries of origin, or change their status. The holder of an E-2 visa may leave the United States at any time. Spouses and unmarried children under 21 years of age, regardless of nationality, may receive derivative E-2 visas in order to accompany the principal alien.

Treaty Countries for E-2 Visas:

Albania Finland Norway
Argentina France Oman
Armenia Georgia Pakistan
Australia Germany Panama
Austria Grenada Paraguay
Azerbaijan Honduras Philippines
Bahrain Iran Poland
Bangladesh Ireland Romania
Belgium Italy Serbia
Bolivia Jamaica Senegal
Bosnia & Herzegovina Japan Singapore
Bulgaria Jordan Slovak Republic
Cameroon Kazakhstan Slovenia
Canada Korea Spain
Chile Kosovo Sri Lanka
China (Taiwan) Kyrgyzstan Suriname
Colombia Latvia Sweden
Congo (Brazzaville) Liberia Switzerland
Congo (Kinshasa) Lithuania Thailand
Costa Rica Luxembourg Togo
Croatia Macedonia Trinidad & Tobago
Czech Republic Mexico Tunisia
Denmark Moldova Turkey
Ecuador Mongolia Ukraine
Egypt Montenegro United Kingdom
Estonia Morocco Yugoslavia
Ethiopia Netherlands    




All contents ©2018 MTCLaw.com. All rights reserved.